RC Racing

Luzon Island 2010 R/C Car Racing Championship

Held every 3 years, the 4th Luzon Island RC championship was in Pacific Mall, NE. Up for grabs was Concours, EP Stock Silvercan, EP Stock Mini, EP Superstock and GP Touring.

6 March - 10:30am (Saturday)

After a 3-1/2 hour drive, finally arrived at the venue in a parking lot of the Pacific Mall. Here is a picture of the pit area.

Pit Area for RC Car Racers Luzon 2010

And here is a picture of the big track. It would be a challenge as it was bumpy and dusty. Grip was very low.

The Luzon 2010 R/C Track

Opening ceremonies started at 1pm, followed by the Councours D' Elegance (touring, mini and best of show). Below are the entries.

R/C Bodies Concours Entry

Mine is the red Hummer on a Tamiya M05 mini chassis. Just something to be different.

Mini R/C Concours

Next was 3 sets of qualifiers. With my wife running EP Stock Silvercan and myself in the Mini and EP Superstock class, it was a hectic afternoon for me. Qualifiers ended around 6pm. Went to a local SOGO hotel to take a shower then went back to the track for the drivers party (beer, food, music). Ended the night around 10:30pm.

7 March  - 8:30am

Got to the track early to setup the cars for one last qualifier. My mini Hummer managed 2nd on the grid in the Mini class. I think I qualified 4th in the EP Superstock. My wife Ges I think in 9th in Silvercan.

Old Time Friends and Racers

Above: The Tamiya Boys (aka Pwede Pa Din Racers). Norman, Joel, Arnold and Allan.

Group Picture, Luzon 2010 Racers

Above: Group Photo.

In the end it was more that just the racing, but a chance to spend two days with friends. Music, food, entertainment and r/c racing... a great weekend!

The Results

Though I did not win any of the mains, I was lucky enough to win the raffle, a Teampowers 13.5T brushless motor. The Hummer also luckily took the Best in Show concours award against very beautiful r/c car bodies.

Silvercan Class "A" Main
1. Tutoy Aldaba
2. Luigi Briones
3. Donis Baul
4. Jay Da Jose
5. Michael De Guzman
6. Ariel Fernandez
7. Dennis Ventura
8. Ges Mangilit
9. Erick Ragudo
10. Noel Rabagon

Mini Class "A" Main
1. Nikki Esteban
2. Norman Cruz
3. Tutoy Aldaba
4. Arnold Dalusung
5. Joel Mangilit
6. Michael De Guzman
7. Allan Colico
8. Simon Labre

Mini Class "B" Main
1. Donis Baul
2. Rey Parco
3. Dennis Ventura
4. Noel Rabagon
5. Morris Mors
6. Garet Santayana

Super Stock Class "A" Main
1. Garet Santayana
2. Jerome Supan
3. Tutoy Aldaba
4. Joel Mangilit
5. Ariel Fernandez
6. Simon Labre
7. Dennis Ventura

GP Touring "A" Main
1. Don Bernabe
2. Noel Rabago
3. Tuxx Javate

Best in Mini Class

Tutoy Aldaba

Best in Touring Class

Simon Labre

Best in Show

Joel Mangilit

A big thanks to Tuxx and the Central Luzon R/C Club for the hospitality and memorable weekend!

Looking forward to 2013. For now, up next is an indoor race in SM Megamall, the Tamiya Cup and the Meralco mini race. A busy summer for r/c racing.

Bookmark and Share

Guide to RC Cars

RC Car Tips.com - Remote Control Cars, Radio Controlled Trucks, and R/C Hobby Shops
330+ pages, photos, articles, videos, hobby shops, free nitro r/c cars ebook, weekly newsletter, hundreds of r/c car tips, and much more!

Online R/C Hobby Shops
Where you can buy radio controlled r/c cars from recommended online hobby shops.


©2003 - 2010 RCCarTips.com